Paul and Anne Ehrlich argue in the Populaiton Explosion (1990) that a baby born in an MDC such as the United States poses a graver threat to global overpopulation than a baby born in and LDC.  The reason is that people in MDC's place much higher demands on the world's supply of energy, good, and other limited resources.  Do you agree with this view?  Why?
Jacob Koselke
9/20/2011 05:31:37 am

Yes, because people in MDC's tend to over consume

Reply
Holly
9/20/2011 05:51:22 am

Jacob, I agree with you because the pop. In MDC tend to take for granted what things they have in order to fulfill their needs.
P.s.bcan I have extra credit points since Jacob cheated??

Reply
Mr. Cripe
9/20/2011 07:12:10 am

make sure that you post a comment and respond to a classmates comment

Reply
Anna
9/20/2011 07:36:33 am

I agree, most people in MDC do tend to consume more.I think that Holly is right people in the U.S. take a lot of things for granted.

Reply
Anna
9/20/2011 07:38:42 am

Mr. Cripe, I can't find the note from class today on here. Did you post them?

Reply
:Darlene
9/20/2011 08:10:49 am

I agree because when you compare a kid from the U.S which is an MDC the child tends to be more wasteful than an underdeleveoped or develping country.

Reply
Darlene
9/20/2011 08:13:35 am

I agree with jacob. We do consume a lot in order to fulfill our needs and we don't take into consideration how lucky we are to have the goods and resources we do compared to a country in sub-saharan Africa.

Reply
Jacob
9/20/2011 08:24:34 am

Reply
Jacob
9/20/2011 08:26:30 am

I agree with Holly that we take a lot of things for granted.

Reply
Shelby
9/20/2011 08:50:30 am

I agree with Paul and Anne Ehrlich because the more people have the more they want and people in MCD's already have more than the people in LCD's.
I agree with Darlene that kids in MCD's are more wasteful because they tend to think that there will always be more of whatever they wasted.

Reply
Emily
9/20/2011 09:14:22 am

I agree with Paul and Anne Ehrlich because a baby born in a MDC has a better chance of growing to adulthood than a baby in a LDC does. The MDCs also have a large population as it is, and overpopulation would have a bigger effect there because they'll need more resources.

I agree with Jacob because people in MDCs are greedy and take what they have for granted. If there's too many greedy people, the country won't be able to keep up with resources to fit everyone's needs.

Reply
Nathan
9/20/2011 09:36:14 am

This is true that we as an MDC do need more resources to keep us at our high demands. We deplete and misuse these resources. As Holly said we take things for granted. And she is absolutely right. MDC's should work towards using less of our natural resources and giving more of those natural resources to LDC so they can thrive and become more developed.

Reply
Mr. Cripe
9/20/2011 09:57:57 am

Anna, I just posted the notes on Population, scroll down they are on the bottom of the page

Reply
Holly
9/20/2011 09:58:12 am

I read it to my dad and he doesn't believe that the two points are related, overpopulation and using energy, and I kinda get what he is saying but I don't understand what he's trying to get at so I was wondering if you could clear that up for me

Reply
Troy Scott
9/20/2011 09:59:23 am

I would have to say yes to this. A baby in, say, Niger, won't use up as much energy as an American baby would. It's just how our customs are. When I think of an american baby, I see the baby from those pampers commercials; When I think of a baby from Africa, I think of those commercials asking you to send money so they don't starve to death. Just saying.

Reply
Mr. Cripe
9/20/2011 10:00:00 am

Very good job so far, keep up the good work and it is OK to respond to more than one person, in other words, I will give extra credit if you respond to more than one person as long as you back up what you say. Have fun

Reply
Mr. Cripe
9/20/2011 10:01:20 am

Holly, all people use energy, the more population the more energy that will be used.

Reply
Troy Scott
9/20/2011 10:02:53 am

I felt that Darlene's post said what I was trying to say also.
"the [U.S.] child tends to be more wasteful than an underdeleveoped or develping country"

Reply
Chase
9/20/2011 10:24:26 am

I disagree because MDCs have greater technology that are becoming more efficient to the earth. LDCs cant afford these technologies, so they must do things in a way that may harm the earth and over population. thus, LDCs may pose a bigger threat to earth. i agree with holly, though, that over population and energy/resources are related.

Reply
Mackenzie
9/20/2011 10:35:05 am

I agree with the Paul and Anna because the more people in a MDC take up more space, energy, food, and limited resources, taking and using more than necessary.

I don't agree with Chase because people in LDCs cannot do things to harm the environment when they don't have the technologies to do so.

Reply
Mr. Cripe
9/20/2011 10:56:07 am

Interesting comment Mackenzie.

It was nice to see someone take the other side, good job Chase.

Reply
zachisacoolkid
9/20/2011 11:49:31 am

MDCs have the technology and recources for LDCs. they just need to have the recources us MDCs have. we are also very wasteful of our recources. we should stop wasting so many recources and start giving. The country gives money to other countries when mabye they should be giving food and water instead

Reply
paige
9/20/2011 12:25:02 pm

I do agree with Paul and Anne on this subject because MDCs do tend to over consume and waste their resources. I agree with Mac in that more people in MDCs take up more space, energy, and resources which involves taking and using more than needed, but I also agree with Chase in that some LDCs do not have the money or technology to do things the "green" way, thus harming the earth and over populations. I can see the reasons for both points of view.

Reply
Allysa
9/20/2011 11:51:05 pm

I agree with Paul and Anne because kids in LDCs may not get the right amout of food they need anyway and usually dont have a good place to live so they arnt taking up space. Kids in MDCs waste food, have more land than they need, and use extra of everything. They dont think about kids all around the world and take everything for grantee.

I do believe Chase has a good point also. Its just that they i dont think people in LDCs have enough things to do that would effect our planet in a way such as over population.

Reply
Mr. Cripe
9/21/2011 01:04:08 am

I am not having any problems posting to this site.

Reply
Clayton
9/21/2011 07:01:18 am

I agree with that except I wouldn't say they pose a threat to overpopulation but that they waste resources MUCH more than a baby born in an LDC. So maybe not overpopulation but resources consumed and waste generated

Reply
Clayton
9/21/2011 07:02:46 am

Emily I agree with you on that one

Reply
Trinity
9/21/2011 10:20:47 am

I would agree for two reasons, one would be that children in the LDC do not get the amount of food as Alyssa said, and also that children in the LCD might not even grow up to be an adult and it is more likely that is would happen.

Reply
9/21/2011 10:56:14 am

I think I remember hearing somewhere that NYC might be the most efficient city in a temperate region in terms of number of people living in the smallest space, using the least amount of resources. (public transit and walking, small apartments-that share interior walls so heat is not lost). I remember hearing this story when gas was around $4.40 per gallon. I wish I could find the source on this.

Reply
Dylan
9/21/2011 11:18:31 am

I agree because a kid born in a MDC will most likely live for approximately between 60-70 years, but kid who was born in a LDC is at high risk of not living very long. So they will tend to waste stuff; because, more kids are born and more kids are dying.

I would have to agree with Clayton; because, I don't think we are over populating. We are just working with limited resources.

Reply
Derek
9/29/2011 11:09:38 am

MDC's do need to have more resources because they live in higher standards than other countries.

i agree with dylan in most poeple in MDC's will live between 60 to 70 years old because they are in a higher stage and have more advanced technology than LDC's

Reply
John
5/1/2014 07:53:47 am

lol ok

Reply
gabby (dont know any of u btw)
9/11/2015 06:14:32 pm

I won't plagiarize your answers but you did help me understand the topic a little bit. Helped me write the essay. Thanks guys

Reply
11/3/2016 10:51:39 am

assist more brother and sisters.

Reply



Leave a Reply.